IELTS Task 2: Joint family versus Independent family

IT IS GENERALLY ACCEPTED THAT FAMILIES ARE NOT AS CLOSE AS THEY USED TO BE. GIVE SOME REASONS WHY THIS CHANGE HAS HAPPENED AND SUGGEST HOW FAMILIES COULD BE BROUGHT CLOSER TOGETHER. INCLUDE ANY RELAVENT EXAMPLES FROM YOUR EXPERIENCE.

Society has changed drastically in past few decades. One of the biggest and most noticeable changes is family relationship and the rise of small family system instead of traditional joint family system. There are many reasons behind the change and we will discuss these reasons in subsequent paragraphs.

Main reason for small families is jobs. Most of the jobs are created in certain metro cities and people are forced to migrate there. In such case, family is scarred in different cities and it is difficult to be in touch with everyone in the family. For instance, I had to move from Pune to Mumbai for my job, Now it is very hard for me to live with my parents and family members.

Another reason is generation gap. In case of business family, person needs not to migrate anywhere. But people within family are not like minded and it creates traction within the family. Thus, joint family gets divided into small family and eventually their relationship vanishes apart.

There are many ways to revert the trend of isolated families. One method is to use technology. People staying apart can meet each other using internet. For example, all family members can decide to meet on skype once in a week. This way it will create the feel of togetherness. Furthermore, in current modern era, transportation has become very fast. It is easy to fly once in a month and meet all relatives. In addition, government can develop job opportunities in all cities so that less people will migrate. Last, people need to be more mature about the relationship management and try to adopt with each other.

In a nutshell, we have to accept the change in the society and lifestyle. Instead of trying to oppose the change, we can respect it and try to adapt to it. Attitude to adjust will lead to close and loving family.