Job satisfaction: factors, element of well-being

TOPIC

As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Answer

Workplace is a location where most people spend a major part of their life, after their student life. What makes a workplace suitable for an individual is the job he/she does. Job satisfaction is the driving force which derives maximum productivity and efficiency out of an individual.

In the modern world, industrialisation has resulted in a mammoth workforce. Job satisfaction inspires this workforce to work honestly and efficiently. Job satisfaction means how contented an individual feels at his workplace. Job satisfaction is presently a concern which is taken care by Industrial psychologists in an industry. It is the duty of an industrial psychologist to look after the mental health of the workers and to solve their dissatisfaction.

modern.

Job satisfaction is subjected to many factors which play a part in an individual's performance. First and foremost, requirements and needs of an individual is an important factor. According to Abraham Maslow's hierarchial needs, an individual has five main needs during his life- Food and shelter, social acceptance, recognition, finances and self actualisation. Second very important factor is financial security. A person can have peace of mind only if he has finances to meet his needs.

Thirdly, job security is very important. No employee can work efficiently and be contented , if he has the fear of being kicked out any time. Fourth most important factor is recognition and social acceptance. When an individual is encouraged for his good work, he/she will try to work more harder next time and would feel satisfied with the job. Fifth, job suitability is a prerequisite to job satisfaction. For instance, if an engineer is given the work of an accountant, errors are bound to occur. The field of interest of an individual should be kept in mind. The above mentioned factors are few most important factors contributing to job satisfaction.

However, how suitable an individual is to expect any thing, whether materialistic or abstract, can only be measured by an expert in this field. Industrial psychologists and industrial sociologists are hired by many companies to look after such problems, arising due to job dissatisfaction.

Thus, job satisfaction is a quintessential requirement for an employee to work efficiently in an organisation. An individual who is not satisfied will surely commit errors and it might even harm the organisation.