GRE issue question about the value of scandals

Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It seems every time one turns on the television or reads the daily news there is a scandal loudly waiting for your attention. Whether it has to do with a socialites failed marriage or a politicians indiscretions, they are waiting and willing to distract you from the mundane occurrences of life. Allowing one to disappear into another's troubles. While everyone may need a distraction scandals teeter the dangerous line between factual and opinion and blur the truth with gritty details and salacious whispers. Scandals can never be completely useful because they not only distract one from the intricate details that scaffold these problems, are innately biased, and often simplify the larger issues of society.

With so many scandals to chose form it is hard to focus on just one. The scandal surrounding a politician with accusations of accepting bribery makes it seem like the problem is solely his and the solution was to simply get rid of him. One could argue that learning about these issues gives you a good idea of him as a person and a perfect snapshot of his character. That is simply not true. We as humans are much to complicated and varied in choices and life to be defined by one mistake; a mistake that usually isn't analyzed with supporting characters and variables at play. This oversimpliction scandal not only limits our view of the issue it leads our focus further away from the unbiased truth from when we began. The biased nature of these issues is another point of great concern

One could argue that there is nothing in life that is truly free from bias and to a degree that is true. But the heart of the scandal lies in the storyteller's ability to make it appeal to its audience own need for an escape into another's mistakes. Because of this there will always be a glossing over of the truths of scandals for heightened response. One could even say storytellers do this by any means necessary. Thus helping one become easily distracted from the bigger more complicated issues that dominate our lives.

Lastly, a scandal can never solve major problems because they not only simplify the issue, they distract from the bigger issues that are generally the root of the problem. A scandal makes one believe that is you solve the scandal you solve the problem but sadly that is not true. Scandals are symptoms of larger and messier societal ills that need changing. Unfortunately scandals don't equip you with the necessary knowledge to address that reality.

They may be a nice distraction. They may be good gossip. They may even give some insight to bigger problems in the world. But because of their oversimplification, biased storytelling, and narrow lens scandals will never be able to focus our attention long enough to fix the problems its lays bare.