GRE ISSUE:leadership, cooperation or competition?

The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

my essay:

Which is the best way for a society to nurture young leaders, instilling a sense of cooperation or competition? We can roughly say that competition motivates people try their best to pursue what they want, while cooperation form a stronger force to make the outcome better. It is undeniable that both of them are keys to successful leader, but in my view, competition plays a more important role for leadership.

The chief reason why we should stress competition in nurturing young people is that, in biologist's theories, competition is the driving force of adaption of individuals and ultimately, leads to species evolution. This reasoning is also applicable to competing in our societies: students competing with each other to get higher grades in school; employees trying to make them stand out in the staff in desire for promotion; athletes training hard to beat the opponents in the game and made the first. During the competition, the desire to win is a common impetus that impels individuals to promote their knowledge and make improvements. In holistic perspective of whole society, just as some social Darwinists' claim, competition also serves as a mechanism for determining the best-suited group, politically, economically, and ecologically.

Though competition make societies move toward improvement, the negative side cannot be ignored. Excessive competition can cause injury to the organisms involved, drain the valuable resources, and lead to the compromising of ethical standards in order to get an advantage. For instance, price wars, competitive interplay in the market place, have racked industry and caused great losses in recent years. All too often, there are no winners and few survivors. Thus, it is necessary to keep the balance between competition and cooperation. The intergovernmental organization OPEC is a positive role model. The organization is consisting of twelve oil producing countries which cooperate together to guarantee their revenue. The principal goal is ensuring the stabilization of oil prices and output in the international market as well as keeping steady income to the producing countries. The member countries eliminate the price differences and potential conflicts; find the best means for safeguarding the organizations interest, individually and collectively.

Competition makes us strong and active, and cooperation creates a win-win situation. While conventionally, cooperation is the antithesis of competition, I think that competition forms the foundation of group success and then comes to cooperation. Furthermore, leadership is very complicate and cannot simply summarize as cooperation or competition, other attributes, like charismatic inspiration and staff assignment also constitute one's leadership.