GRE Issue Essay - Governments should offer a free university education

Hi everyone! This is my first Analyze an Issue Task. I wish some opinions about it. Thanks!

Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A policy which establishes that a government offer free university for that cannot afford the tuition is a step forward to reduce the social inequality and promote better future for those people. Despite the costs that this policy can represent to the government`s budget, the long term benefits can compensate this investment.

Admittedly, a person who came from a humble background has a much reduced chance to offer better perspectives to his/her family and children. Unless this person became a successful endeavor enterprising, with a good view of market (and some luck), his/her profits will be short, and probably his children won't have a chance to study in a university, and the cycle will be maintained.

But, if the government offers a chance of a free university to this person, who already had proof her/his capacity when was accept in the graduation course, this miserable path can be changed. Is known that people with high level of education have had better payments and, whit this budget improve, will be able to offer a better lifestyle for his/her family and children, as well for themselves, breaking the miserable cycle cited above.

Some people can argue that offering this kind of condition could be really expensive for the government, which has other primarily responsibilities, like security and health. However, when a government invests in education, making the population more clarified, other social problems such as violence and some kind of diseases tend to reduce, and the investments in those areas could not need increases.

In addition, we have to consider the economic benefits from the country. With a high level educated population, with an already cited higher profit, more money will be injected in the national economy, providing benefits to all sorts of areas, since automobile industry till the entertainment industry.

In conclusion, a policy of free education for those who cannot pay and proof that deserve it, shall bring benefits not only for those who will have the chance to get in a university, but for all classes of our society.