GRE Issue;Ability of human thinking may deteriorate with dependence on technology

1. As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is debatable whether technology has adverse impact on humans. I disagree with the statement that humans' ability to think will deteriorate because of dependence on technology when solving problem.

First, technology is beneficial for humans' thinking ability. Since the Industrial Revolution, our society has changed on many grounds. After the Internet came to our lives, everything has changed more rapidly. There is no exception in many fields of science. Technology's improvement boosted development of the fields of science and vice versa. In other words, technology is correlated with science very closely, which means that there are great amounts of learning for people, especially for students or kids, with developing and relying on technology. People became to need to learn much more knowledge than before as much as they depended on technology. Learning is clearly beneficial for thinking ability; thus, dependence on technology engenders improving ability of humans to think.

Furthermore, technology ameliorates education for humans. Before the development of technology, people should learn by exhausted methods. They had to bring heavy books and move around libraries to find out an answer. However, with technology, there is no need to do these laborious works. Those who want to read their major books can use tablet PC such as i-Pad without heavy real books. Also, those who need to find pieces of information only have to search for the Web, sitting at a desk. In other words, education is much more effective and convenient with technology. For example, there is a program, Pythia, which is used for calculation of cross section of colliding subatomic particles. The cross section is indispensable for research in elementary particle physics; however, it is too complicated to calculate by hands. If calculating by hands, it would take several days. Using Pythia, calculating a colliding cross section might take from a few seconds to several hours. This fact does not mean that people who use this program are getting worse in ability to think. Rather, to use the program, they should think about more effective ways to run the program and understand the program language like C+. In other words, putting trivial works in some tools, humans can concentrate on more core works.

In summary, it is not true that humans' ability to think will get worse, relying on technology to solve problems. Instead, solving problems with technology reaps benefits for the ability of humans to think.