IELTS: Investment in public transportation to against pollution; Agree/ Disagree

The policy to increase spending on public transportation to reduce air pollution has been common in many cities in developed countries. Besides, a number of governments in developing countries are beginning to put more attentions into this solution as it can help them to deal with the same problem more efficiently. I believe that it is because the policy has been agreed by the majority in every where.

Low fare of metro or bus may attract more people using this kind of public service. Especially, students and low-income citizens seem to be influenced heavily by economic measure. Moreover, comfortable buses or trains and convenient routes are able to please variety types of people when they allow them to get rid of terrible weather conditions or difficulties on raising petrol cost. As representing for a great proportion of the population, they help to solve the air pollution when they leave their individual motorbikes at home. Consequently, less individual vehicles means less green gases released.

Well-invested buses and trains with less gas emission is another factor that guarantee for the success of the policy as it is environmentally friendly. In Scandinavia's nations, spending for the study of and using hydro buses on their roads are convincing evidences for the commitment of their governments to protect the environment. Moreover, the increasing on using public transportation creates a possibility to solve traffic jams which in general are the main cause of air pollution in almost big cities nowadays.

There is no doubt that spending national budget for public transportation is an overwhelming policy that more governments need to think about. It is because this investment benefits not only the environment but also the infrastructure in those cities.