IELTS-International tourism should respect local cultures; 'Chinese restaurants'

International tourism has become the biggest industry in the world. Some people think it cause tension between people from different culture. Others thing it leads to understanding between countries. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

I do not hold the perspective that international tourism promotes mutual understanding between different cultures, though it is indeed prevalent all over the world.

Admittedly, traveling to foreign countries is beneficial for tourists to have a all-round command of a wide variety of foreign customs and habits. Not only gain the tourists new experience through visiting historical heritages, tasting special delicacy and communicating with local residents, but their outlooks are substantially enlarged and their ability of acceptance is markedly enhanced. Also, it is the tourists who travel around the world that bring their own national culture to their destinations and exert influence on the local residents there. For instance, in the United Stated an increasing number of Chinese restaurants, opened initially to cater for the taste of Chinese visitors, currently are popular among Americans who show preference to Mapo Tofu, Kongpao chicken etc.

Nevertheless, the tension and conflicts between people form different culture cannot be ignored. The difference and discrepancy can hardly be removed or united in terms of religion, race, ideology etc. To illustrate, a Muslim is likely to feel isolated and uncomfortable when visiting a country where the majority of local residents worship Judaism. Furthermore, a wealth of conflicts and unnecessary misunderstandings tend to be caused by the difference of mutual communication ways. Take sign language for instance. Though giving a thumb up mostly symbolizes a sincere compliment for other people, in Iran it is a typical offensive hand gesture. What can be more disturbing is the problems that international tourism brings about. Excessive exploitation of tourism resources may impair local natural environment and eco-system, resulting in impetuous resistance against international tourism as well as foreign culture.

Overall, without suggesting that international tourism be banned altogether, I would argue that it should be developed with the prerequisite of respecting local culture. Also, tourists who decide to visit a strange region are supposed to be psychologically prepared and be tolerant about foreign culture for their own sake.