IELTS:Are International Sporting Occasions a Safe Way for Releasing Emotions??

Most people believe that international sporting occasions , e.g. the football World Cup , are esstential because in their belief, it helps in easing the interntional tensions and it helps release the patriotic emotions in a non-dangerous way. However, I strongly disagree with the statment because I believe that people become more aggressive and hateful towards other citizens of diffierent countries. So, I think it is not a good way to for expressing emotions for several reasons.

First of all, people can get really emotional and attached to their teams that they would put a lot of effort in prmoting their team that if the team lost they would not realize that it is just a game which can lead to a serious case of depression.

Secondly, international sporting occasions such as, The Football World Cup can cause problems in the international affairs. For example, what is happening nowadays between Egypt and Algeria. The Egyptians and Algerians are physically abusing one another.

However, some people do not realize such things and belief that there are no harm feeling after the game and that what happened in the stadium is left in the stadium which clearly is not true at all.

Finally, I believe that the international sporting occasions are not at all a safe way to release patriotic emotions as long as the mentality of the people remains as it is.