Interdisciplinary; It is better to have broad knowledge or to be specialized?

Hello, everyone,

I am preparing my coming TOEFL exam, I spent 30 minites finishing the following essay, but I don't know whether it's Ok or not,

can some spare some time have my essay checked? I will appreciate it very much!

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Interdisciplinary has become a heat topic recently, and many universities have established curriculum including several academic subjects to enable students to acquire a wide assortment of knowledge. I would like to support this trend for the following reasons.

First, most of work, if it's not high-tech related, entail broad knowledge instead of specific skills. I am a Japanese teacher, and people will assume that I just need to be proficient in Japanese which is exactly what I thought in the first place.to my surprise, as soon as I started my work, I found that I was also required to design PowerPoint and diagrams in the Excel. During I worked on my PowerPoint, I had to pay attention to the balance of colours and typeface, I even took a course called the techniques of PowerPoint online and I was so regret that I didn't enroll a course about Office appliance, because I am now annoyed by the complex formation of Excel. If you think the story stops here, you will be wrong again, when I stand in front of hundreds of students, I realised that in order to attract the attention of my students, teaching psychology should have been included in my list of compulsory courses. Teaching may seem easy to some people, in effect, the syllabus of teaching apartment consists of from teaching methodology to children psychology. After what I experienced as a teacher, I would also agree that we should add the design theory into the teaching courses.

Secondly, as for scientific research, interdisciplinary also plays an important role. There is a stimulating phenomenon called migratory of birds, which has perplexed scientists for decades. Researchers have conducted a series of experiments to found out the mechanism about this phenomenon. At first, they investigated the migratory situation from the perspective of animal behavior which requires knowledge about animals, and then they assumed that this must has something to do with the magnetic field of the earth which requires information from geography, finally, they figured out that sun might be the key to the answer which needs help of astronomy. At last, they concluded that this phenomenon includes many contributing factors and we human beings still have to stay tune on it.

In a conclusion, no matter a common job or a research in the scientific field, we are supposed to combine several sorts of academic knowledge together.