IELTS : intelligent machines replacing human beings : advantages and disadvantages

Intelligent machines such as robots are widely applier to take the place of human beings. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Some of lastest technological innovations are believed to gradually replace human workforce in a wide range of industries. The drawbacks and benefits of this trend will be carefully examined in this essay.

On the one hand, smart devices and machines definitely make the manufacturing progress become much more productive. Since the machines are all programmed to perform the tasks immediately and with high accuracy, the quality as well as the productivity of the product making process could be significantly improved by the use of these machines. Additionally, intelligent robots will help to reduce the labor force needed, which contributes to the cutting down on the amount of money paid for the employees and therefore increasing the company's profit.

On the other hand, this kind of human beings substitution may increase the unemployment rate. As the machines can perform efficiently, the need for manpower will be dramatically reduced. There might be only vacancies for highly trained technicians who can operate the up-to-date machines and those people who are not access to such high level of education will face the risk of not being employed in a long time.

To conclude, although intelligent automatic machines have some drawbacks, I believe the benefits are more significant. Furthermore, there are many jobs such as crafting, porcelain making or designing which can only be done manually, so it is hard to say robots can entirely substitute human workforce in any way.