Increasing the petrol price as problem solving of traffic jam and pollution. Agree or disagree?

Topic:

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic congestion and pollution are common problems in a city that are complicated to be solved. Whilst some people think that the best way to deal with these problems is by increasing the price of petrol, I personally believe that a total increase in petrol prices is not good for nation economy since it influences to the rise of goods prices. I also believe that there are other effective ways to tackle the traffic growth and pollution issues.

I would argue that increasing the price of petrol could stimulate people to change their daily travel from private to public transport. Take Singapore as an example, the Singaporean are more likely to use public transport since the government implemented policies such as rising the price of petrol and applying a high tax for owning private vehicles. As a result, the people of Singapore are leaving their own vehicles at home and starting to use public transport because it is much cheaper. It is thus clear that increasing the price of petrol has reduced the traffic jam and the amount of pollution.

Conversely, it is inevitable that, as a consequence of increasing petrol prices, the cost of goods will also increase as many goods are often transported by lorries. Since the government of Indonesia increased the petrol prices in 2014 due to the rising of world's oil price, it turned the food prices and travel costs into very expensive. Hence, the idea of getting petrol prices high does not help an economy, whereas it brings to a malady system. Moreover, the impacts of converted transport from private to public should be taken for account. A Malaysian study case shows that some people are less likely to use public transportation such as LRT, monorail, bus, taxi and so on since they know that public transportation gives more negative impacts. For example, Malaysian commuters are difficult to move from one place to another if they still use public transport. As a result, they tend to use private cars even though they should spend more money for petrol. Not only this, more people feel uncomfortable with this situation in public transport where crimes are frequently committed.

As far as I'm concerned, there are some other ways that could be more appropriate to tackle these issues. Firstly, the government should provide societies the best public transportation by making it as convenient as private vehicles, but still in affordable cost. This way is believed could attract them to use mass transport than the private ones. Secondly, the government should be brave to restrict the massively number of selling vehicles. When more people buy vehicles, more people will use it on the road that mean traffic congestion cannot be neglected anymore. Thirdly, the government should build a new traffic system that prevent all private transport to operate together in the same day so that the traffic flow will keep fluent. All of this point is that rather than increasing the petrol price, these ways could be more suitable due to the less of side effects to other sectors.

In brief, it is evident that although increasing the petrol price could reduce the traffic congestion and pollution problems, I personally argue that it much more effective when the government pay their attention to provide proper public transport and create strict policies particularly in traffic system. Where possible, people should be more aware that to solve these issues are not only the government responsibility, but also people as the citizens who live in.