IELTS: The increasing demand for oil and gas has made it necessary to look for these sources

The increasing demand for oil and gas has made it necessary to look for these sources of energy in remote and untouched natural places. Do you think the advantages of locating oil and gas in these places outweigh the disadvantages of damaging these places?

In the past few decades, the needs of energy had a significant rise, and many countries and energy companies were exploiting oil and gas in some distant areas and natural regions. While this has some beneficial influences on economy and local people, there are still more corresponding problems.

On one hand, exploiting fossil fuel in natural places could pose a large threat on ecology and environment. For example, a serious oil spill accident happened in Gulf of Mexico several years ago, resulting from the wrong operation within the process of oil drilling. This accident led to a series of problems, such as ocean water pollution and mass fish deaths. Furthermore, extensive extraction of oil could result in earthquake and ground sinking.

Besides, the relations between some countries have become increasing tense due to the scramble for fuel resources. Many developed countries heavily rely on fossil fuel to drive the economy, and they intend to hunt for oil and gas reserves from overseas. This means that the scramble for fuel could be a threat to national security.

On the other hand, the increasing exploitation of oil in distant areas can stabilize the international fuel prices and reduce the intense demand for fossil fuels, because of fuel supply rising. In addition, locating oil and gas in remote places can provide more employment opportunities to local residents, who are likely to increase their income.

In conclusion, there are more negative impacts in exploitation of fuel on the natural environment and international relations, despite some economic benefits in energy markets. Therefore, it is necessary to develop more alternative energy sources rather than fossil fuels.