Increase in flights - IELTS WRITING TASK 2.

The world has seen an enormous increase in flights for leisure, business and commercial purposes around the world over recent years.

What do you think are the most advantages and disadvantages of such fights?

Do you think flights should be taxed more? should be taxed more?

Over the last few decades, flights have become one of the most popular transports that bring benefits and have clear advantages to leisure, business and commerce. However, some disadvantages have already emerged and caused various concerns that will be discussed in this essay.

Travelling by air for leisure purposes is a very practical means of transport, because it enables people to spend less time on the way to their destinations and they do not face time-consuming problems. In addition, flights are so flexible and convenient that they can be booked and rejected at any time. For instance, if anyone has intention to travel from Singapore to New York lots of airline companies offer their services with regard to client's demand.

Likewise, there are several commercial benefits as well. Exotic products and fresh fruits that are common in today's markets are brought by airplane and consumers have gained the opportunity of buying them reasonably in good condition.

Despite the above-mentioned advantages, flights raise some drawbacks that encourage to be reconsidered. First of all, airplanes burn much more fuel than other transports and produce harmful gases that result in environmental pollution. For example, acid rain which contributes to the worldwide concern is explained by production of the fuel burnt.

Another serious disadvantage of flying by plane is emergency that can happen during the flight. In case of danger, passengers have very little chance to survive. Needless to say, most of the air-crashes finish with tragic consequences.

On balance, it would seem that sharp steps like increasing taxes can only arouse public complaint and annoyance. Therefore, in my view, people themselves should decide whether use of planes is worthwhile or not and, undoubtedly, time will give clear evidences.

(285 words)

Hello, Everyone. I am a new member of Essay Forum. As many, I am here to acquire more knowledge and IELTS tips. I hope other members who are of higher and advanced knowledge will help me evaluate my essay and reconsider my mistakes.