IELTS: Improving careers or spend time with family and friends more important

Please feel free to comment

Essay Topic: Some people prefer to spend more time improving their careers. Others think it is more important to spend time with family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statement? Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often said that money links to happiness and successful life. Thus, some people have the notion that it is crucial to spend more time in their careers, work harder or even longer to get promoted. However, some feel that social life with family and friends is paramount. It is disagreed that climbing the corporate ladder is the most essential part in our lives.

Advocates of careers as the first priority argue that getting a higer paid job is the key to success and happiness. They assert that better income enables them to achieve their personal fulfillment, and provide a better standard of living to their family. For example, they can send their children to study abroad and live with luxury lifestyle. Thus, it is clearly understood that why they think better career means better future.

On the other hand, people who are in favour of family and friends as paramount argue that money and career are not the key indicators to gauge happiness. They claim that extreme working and neglecting their loved and close one will deteriorate their social lives. As a result, they are likely to have tenuous relationship with their family and friends. When they face any problems and obstacles, they have no one to listen, support and guide them. Over time, their social network become wither and die.

In conclusion, although having a successful career is important in our lives, we should always strieve for a balanced lifestyle. Hence, it is sometimes thought that having all the money in the world and not sharing with our loved one does not make us the happiest person.