My Writing Improvement - I don't have a lot of writing experiences, especially in English

My Writing Improvement

I would say that I don't have a lot of writing experiences, especially in English because I came to America from Saudi Arabia last year. Even though I have taken three writing courses, I still feel that I need to improve my writing skills. Whenever I received my essay from my instructor, I could see a lot of red marks on my paper. Now my writing has improved especially in the past three months in English 80, I have improved my writing by using academic vocabulary, writing clear sentence, and using correct grammar.

First of all is that I look for a topic that may not need difficult vocabulary because my vocabulary is limited. I know that if I start with the topic in which I don't have enough vocabulary, I can't make progress in writing because of my lack of vocabulary. When I was taking the writing course, I asked my professor regarding my lack of vocabulary. The professor suggested that I could express what I wanted to say as much as possible in my way and come back to those sentences and change it with more academic vocabulary. Now my vocabulary is unlimited I know a lot of new words that will help me to make progress.

Second of all, I still tend to think in Arabic. If a topic is assigned to me, I try to think in Arabic and then translate it in English. This is why it takes me hours to write when other students write in half hour. I also think in a simple way because a simple sentence is easy to translate in English. As a reference, English and Arabic have different sentence structures. However, this simple sentence doesn't explain fully what I was initially intending to express. Through the three writing courses, I practiced to think in English and write right away. It helped me to save my time in writing, and to write a clear sentence.

Another problem that I have is that I don't use correct grammar. I didn't take a lot of grammar classes since I came to America I just take one class in the IEP Program. I make a lot of mistakes and its little mistake like I don't add words that will make my sentence a complete sentence for example "snow covered houses and buildings" but now I know its fragment and I need to rewrite it as a complete sentence "snow covered the houses and buildings."

In conclusion, I have improved my writing this semester in a good way. Now I can write longer and my vocabulary is improving. Also I take the time to write so I can write clear sentence, and I can now use correct grammar.

pleas told me if there is any mistake so i can fix it before i turn it in tomorrow for my English 80 class