How important is sports in your country?

Living in this contemporary society, bread-and-butter issues become the foremost almost in everyone's minds. As a consequence, more important issues has taken a backseat in people's lives. One of such is health. Regardless of age, people from all walks of life must always maintain their health at all times. However, the hectic lifestyle that we have adopted prevents us from allocating enough time for physical activities and such. It is high time that we realize and stand up to take responsibilities of our own health before diseases ravaged our body.

First and foremost, the easiest method to maintain our health would be by doing sports routinely. In my country Singapore, the government has taken notice of this and strongly encouraged its citizens to adopt a health lifestyle. Various initiatives are taken such as constructing artificial parks across every residential area, building areas for recreation which provide sports as an activity. for instance, in East Coast Park, the government not only reclaimed the area to make a beach, but also constructed a pathway for bicycle and roller blade tracks. Visitors then can enjoy the natural beauty while doing some physical activity as well.

Governments active role in encouraging sports do not stop in fulfilling the interest of the general public but also students from different levels. Primary and secondary students have a compulsory NAPFA test conducted annually to test their level of physical fitness. As such, students are required to do regular exercise to keep their body fit, free from threats of obesity, and maintain their health. As Mohandes Gandhi once said, the true wealth of life is health, not gold or silver'. indeed, by having health, we can lead a fulfilling and wonderful life.

In a nutshell, we must sit up and take responsibility of our own health because health is the key of happiness in our life. as it has been said, 'life greatest gift is a good health and a good sense', we should always cherish our health and maintain it by doing routine sport and physical exercise. Or else, we might have just let diseases seeped into our body and be a cause of our future demise.