( IELTS essay) important decision of a teenager by himself or by parents

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents or other relatives should make important decisions for their (15-18yrs) teenage children. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Teenage is a crucial period in everybody's life. So many people argue that teenage children are capable of taking their own decisions. However, I am not completely agree with it. In my opinion, it should be the collective effort by giving equal importance to both parents and children.

To begin with, there are so many reasons why the advice from a relative or parents is not always helpful. People enjoy doing things the way they like it. Undoubtedly, the success of a teenager achieves in his chosen decisions is proportional to their individual interests. Therefore, teenagers should give freedom to fix final word in an important matter of his life. Besides, parents necessarily do not have adequate knowledge about everything in this ever-changing world. Most importantly, parents try to impose their interests in their children, which are sometimes opposite to the desire of their children. This may jeopardize the teenagers' dreams and spoils their future. For instance, a father who is a doctor will never allow his son to become a motor mechanic instead of a doctor or an engineer.

However, the involvement of parents or a relative in taking important decisions will bring wonderful results in the future life of the teenager. As they are more experienced, they can point out the merits and demerits of an important decision. It will help them to make right choice and avoid mistakes. Parents, in most cases are the first friend and teacher and have right to interfere for their childrens' better life. They know their children in a better way than others. As they realize the strength and weakness of their child, they can better foresee the possible difficulties to be encountered in his future associated with the choice. For instance, a child who have severe problem with extreme climate cannot adapt with a job in country with extreme climatic conditions. The outstanding benefits may attracts the teenager to select it, but, the objection of the parents may save the life of the child. In short, teenagers are influenced by fantasies while adults beware of the difficulties.

To conclude, the important decisions of a teenager should be taken together by the parents and teenagers. Parents should consider the desire of teenager and children must understand the concern of their parents. The mutual respect and understanding of each other will bring wonderful results, both for the teenager and their parents.