What are the most important characteristics a public figure should possess?

Throughout history, a few names stood out from the rest and became highly exalted even until today. They become role models, leaders, and guides in the murky landscape of life. Napoleon Bonaparte once said, 'a leader is a dealer of hope'. Therefore, people who become public figures have common characteristics which are essential to possess and make them become the inspiration of many others.. The looming question would be : what are these traits?

Firstly, a public figure must be passionate about what one preach and said. Henry Miller once said,'What distinguishes the majority of men from the few is their ability to act according to their beliefs'. Passionate people prove to be attractive to the masses as they are unyielding and determined in their cause. One can only admiration and respect for such a person. Therefore, public figures who has burning passion is often followed by many, in the hope of being imbued by the same passion. People continues to put their faith in them even though the path where they lead is daunting and uncertain to the extremes. 'Live your beliefs and you can turn the world around', indeed by being perseverance, change is bound to happen.

Being humble is also requisite for a public figure. as it has been said, 'A hero is no braver than an ordinary man, but he is brave for five minutes longer' A public figure is actually equivalent to his followers, mere humans. Therefore, one should not be arrogant and boast about one's fame or popularity. Instead, by putting oneself in others' shoe, one can better understands the plight of others and offers assistance and aid. For instance, Mother Teresa relinquished her status and wealth to safe the poor and downtrodden people in the streets.