TOEFL: Important to be able to work with a group of people or independently?

Is it more important to be able to work with a group of people on a team or to work independently? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Some people like working alone, because they do not like discuss with others. In my point of view, I think discuss with others is a good way to achieve a goal. Hence, I like work with a group of people, because it can finish the work much more easily. There are numerous clear reasons and I would explore some important ones here.

First of all, working with a team will much more efficient. Group members can share different works. For example, when I was a student, I often finished the project with my classmates. We have a team, so the cooperation plays an important role for a good project. Some members collected data and others do different work. If I have to finish this project alone, then I would spend a lot of time.

Secondly, according to team work, I can learn many merits from others and improve my disadvantages. Some people have a great attitude to solve many difficult problems, like patience and honor. That will help me a lot. For another thing, some of my good friends were my group members in school, because we work together for a long time, so we know each other. We have some special memories when we work together.

Thirdly, people will argue with others sometimes, maybe it will delay the process of work and make us unhappy, but this is an important thing that we have to learn. Society is a big group; we have learned to receive other's opinion. Sometimes, the confidence will blind us mind and judge other's opinion. Cooperating with others can help us to be a great person and success in the future.

In conclusion, cooperation is an important virtue that we have to learn. If we do not know how to work with others, maybe we will become a selfish person.

So, I strongly agree that work with a group of people is more important.