TOEFL- The importance of learning process - Do students need to attend classes?

Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The main purpose of educational system is to educate students in order to enable them to obtain professional skills. Consequently, common wisdom says that a college student should attend classes, which function as specific passages between professors and students. This is because teaching in classes is how most professors deliver and spread their knowledge and ideas to students. However, some people do not believe that it is necessary for students to attend every class. As I see, absenteeism is inappropriate for students most of the time unless under certain unusual circumstances.

College professors are the experts, who are far more experienced and proficient in the academic fields compared to students. Thus, attending classes is the most effective and efficient way for students to learn. In other words, nonappearance to classes usually hinders students from learning. Clearly, most professors reveal or demonstrate their expertise in the classroom rather than other places. Students who do not come to classes will lose their opportunities to interact with professors. Of course it is possible that a student figure out some knowledge without others' assistance, but this process must be more arduous than learning directly from specialists, who already know the critical concepts and crucial theories in this subject.

Nonetheless, for some special situations, I believe students can be absent from classes only if they can guarantee that they can maintain their progress. For instance, if there is an emergency, or a speech addressed by a renowned scholar, students can decide whether they want to go to class. However, when they make their own choice, they have to understand it is their responsibility to put more efforts in their homework and academic performance.

In a nutshell, I argue that attending classes is of paramount importance for students' education. Even though sometimes, for certain reasons, absenteeism is unavoidable, students should not eschew their learning progress.