IELTS : what is the impact of technology on the frequency of face-to-face communication?

This is my IELTS writing Task 2 essay.

Please correct it and share ideas :3

Question

: As people use internet or mobile phone to communicate, the number of face to face communication decreases. Do you agree or disagree?

My Answer

: There has been a controversy whether the frequency of face-to-face communication will decrease due to the advanced technology. Some argue that the Internet and mobile phones will become a predominant method in interpersonal interaction sooner or after. I, by and large, agree with this opinion for the following reasons.

It is irrefutable that even though the technology regarding human communication is developed, people would still use a traditional way of communication. Communicators usually not only do verbal communication but also utilize a range of non-verbal ways, such as facial expression, gesture, eyes and even odor sense, in order to exchange their feeling and emotion, aside from having a conversation. That is the point where the conservative way of communication has its own significance, compared with the technology-based one that is deemed to remain in only a superficial degree.

Nevertheless, the impact of the new communication method based on modern technology is getting greater and people are more and more interact in that way. To begin with, the new way, in comparison to the initial technology's limited functions that allowed people to use only text or voice, is approaching nearly the same level with the face-to-face communication. Users now even can interact seeing each other's faces through a vivid video chatting system, where they can feel like being with opponents in the same place.

Furthermore, the technology-based communication is quite a suitable method in the ever-shrinking world. The new way can allow people to communicate regardless of time and space, which meets the needs and tastes of individuals who want to keep in touch with acquaintances in overseas or save time for visiting due to a busy life, or even telecommuters and multinational corporations.

In conclusion, although the importance of traditional communication method cannot be wholly ignored, I believe that the usage of the new way will continue to increase, since it is now nearly the equal to the real interpersonal conversation as well as matches needs of the current world.