There has been an immense increase in some immoral traits of human beings in modern societies.

Individual greed and selfishness has been the basis of the modern society. Some people think that we must return to older and more traditional values of respect for the family and the local community in order to create a better world to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been an immense increase in some immoral traits of human beings in modern societies. Self-concentration and egoism is expanding alarmingly as well as profit-making prospects. However, there are some measures that can be taken to prevent this apprehensive trend. Highlighting the inherited virtues from previous generations as well as accentuating the values of traditional lifestyle is likely to be an effective way to tackle the world today problems in this regard.

To begin with, today's members of modern societies have a tendency to consider themselves as the sole element in the world without noticing the fact that they are part of a bigger community. This self-concentration and egoistic attitude has incurred as a result of the downward slope in community spirit and social ties among the individuals which are not as strong as they used to be in the old times. Although this is the price of living a modern lifestyle, people can still consider themselves as limbs of a body. Promoting charity activities as well as encouraging people to follow ethical legacy of our ancestors can lead us to a more stable society.

Furthermore, there has been a trend to value money more than morality for the last millennium which has led people to a profit-making perspective in life. Evaluating people based on their possessions and properties has become a virtue nowadays. While the financial ability of an individual can be pondered as a major accomplishment, there are far more ethical values that should be taken into account for one in order to be believed as a successful personality in traditional cultures. These values such as strong family bonds need more attention and respect so that to become as a relief for stressful modern lifestyle. Admittedly, people would be less vulnerable to financial deficits as they could be supported by their families and communities.

All in all, it is true that the modern lifestyle has brought ethical drawbacks to the societies. However, paying respect to traditional values and moral virtues could be an appropriate approach to cope with this unwanted trend.

* I'd be pleased to receive your comments.