ILETS ESSAY ON SIGNIFICANCE OF LEARNING HISTORY.

To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

Undoubtedly, advancements in science and technology are at its peak in modern era. Due to this, there has been a drastic change in lifestyles of today's society. In light of this, some people argue that in this technological-driven world, knowledge about past has no significance. However, in my opinion learning about past indeed, has invaluable benefits even in today's era.

Firstly, learning about past can enhance our learning skills by investigating and interpreting experiences of our ancestors. For instance, students could enlighten on the various hurdles our scientists had to face in inventing new accessories which are being used as luxurious items by us. This would enable them to avoid doing the same mistakes that were done by researchers in the past. As a result, by learning from past, it has become lot easier to discover latest technological related products such as Ipod, Kindle and many other electronic gadgets.

Another important significance of knowing past is that it provides valuable explanations about the situations, we face today. For instance, according to many reports, death rate has increased dramatically as compared to ancient times. One causes of this, is the eating habits of people. Nowadays, may people prone to eat frozen food which is proved to be hazardous to health. However, in past people preferred to eat fresh and healthy food, this result in less number of diseases. Thus, we tend to get vital information after learning about past experiences and these can ease the complexities we are currently going through in our lives.

Nevertheless, history is considered to be the precious part and parcel from our ancestors. With their inbound efforts and wisdom, we are living a comfortable life. Therefore, children should be encouraged to learn about the hardships and difficulties faced by our scientists and researchers. This in turn will give valuable experience to today's students. They will not repeat the same mistakes faced by our elders and will focus on learning about new innovative inventions that can benefit the society on whole. Furthermore, learning about past experiences and conflicts can teach them to avoid in future. As a result, whole society can prosper and live a happier life.

In the conclusion, learning about past culture, art and lifestyle can bring profound to the society. Knowledge about history is considered as the foundation step of any new invention. Thus, its benefits should be underestimated and it should be taught as a mandatory subject in the syllabus.