Ignoring what others' think and others' opinions is clearly the more successful path in life

Please Grade My essay out of 12 !!!

Assignment:

How important is it to seek the opinions of others when making significant personal decision?

Essay:

Without question, the most vital decision one can make is from himself/herself. Though others' opinions may swing one's initial thought, literature, history, and in sports have exemplified the power of making one's own personal decision without the assistance of others.

In the novel As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner, the effect of making personal decisions without others' opinions is clearly illustrated. Jewel, one of the main characters, goes down his own decision path, ignoring all the outside opinions. Jewel is determined to bury his mother, Addie, in Jackson even though he is deluged with negative feedback and opinions. One of the characters, Darl, continues to try to persuade Jewel to end to journey but Jewel refuses. In the end of the novel, Jewel accomplishes his goal while Darl is sent to a mental asylum, demonstrating that not all opinions are valid for consideration.

In addition to American literature, history also depicts the efficaciousness of following one's own heart. During the American Revolution, the American leaders who drafted the Declaration of Independence and declared sovereignty were met with negative feedback and opinions. Writers such as Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Jefferson were told that going to war with Britain was straight out absurd. At the time, Britain was at its apex of power, colonizing all over the globe. However, our founding fathers went with their own decisions and as history shows, their decision was the correct one.

Last but not least, following one's decision and its success can be seen in the sports world. One exemplary condition is in the NFL. Peyton Manning, the record the setting quarterback from the Indianapolis Colts, follows his own intuition when playing football. Manning is well known for his audibles, or his changing of the play at the line of scrimmage. In one game during the 2009-2010 season, the Colts called a slant rounte one of Manning's receivers. Without hesistation, Manning calls an audible and goes with his own personal decision, not the coaches. The play was a overwhelming success, as Manning switched the play into a go-route to Pierre Garcon, which turned out to be a long touchdown.

All in all, ignoring what others' think and others' opinions is clearly the more successful path in life. As illustrated through the novel As I Lay Dying, the American Revolution, and Peyton Manning, following one's own decision ultimately leads to success.