IETLS - advertising and consumer goods. What are the real needs of customers?

Topic- Today, the high sales of popular consumers goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold

To what extent do you agree or disagree

The consumer goods can be described as basic necessity of buyers' to meet day-today life requirement and with the help of advertisement, the manufacturers are able to reach the potential buyers. Therefore, I agree that advertisement plays a key role in hiking sales and promotion of goods. However, I disagree that it ignores the right needs of the community.

Firstly, needs of individual varies from one another. The disposable income not only gives right to consumers to select a right commodity for themselves but also, to decide how they would like to spend their money. For example- average income family or a person will not exceed limit to purchase an item that does not fit into his budget . Here the role of advertising was to created an awareness among the mass. Advertising had least influence on that consumer in decision making process- that is, a decision of not purchasing an item.

Secondly, due to globalization consumers are informed and better educated not to fall in trap of advertisement. These days, consumers are shifting their preferences to social, environmental goods and often manufacturers of these goods have a reputation, that they would not risk by making a false marketing or letting unauthorized person access their name. Bodyshop is a world renounced example and first of its kind to support campaign that said no to animal products and testing. Here they showed a true picture about themselves which made them favorite. Thus, it proves advertisement does not ignores the needs of society.

Finally,advertising is contributing towards society by encouraging common mass to buy those consumer goods which donates a small portion of their profit percentage to NGOs. In India, for every purchase of Whisper, Pantine (all products) contributes a small profit to NGOs to support education for those children who live in poverty. On the other hand media is more active ever than before, covering small details of every advertising and continuously pushing government and regulation to take legal action if an advertisement makes a false promises about the quality. A large number of legal case on the manufacture of Fair & Lovely is one of the example. Thus, encouraging manufacturers to use true evidence for the promotion of their good by the means of advertisement.

In my opinion, advertising neither effect consumers buying decision nor manipulates phycology of consumers's mind and not to forget it is helping NGOs. It only helps in making a product known and the sources of its availability. The government action even further guards the interest of common mass.Advertisements are more like an empty frame. You will see only what you want to.