Ielts_writing2: poor children better at solving problems than rich children?

Topic: The children who grow up in a family short of money are more capable of dealing with problems in adult life than children who are brought up by wealthy parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Essay:

It cannot be denied that financial background has a profound impact on children's upbringing. It is suggested that children living in poor families are more efficient at tackling problems in adulthood than those from affluent families. I am convinced that this is a precise notion.

Poor children are able to make wise decisions when they reach adulthood because they have to get accustomed to hardship from an early age. Poverty means material difficulties. Impoverished parents can never spend enough time on taking care of their children because they are preoccupied with earning a modest income everyday. As a result, those children have to learn to be independent by caring for themselves and working to support the whole family. The living environment for poor children is harsh and even full of temptations and dangers. However, it teaches them helpful lessons about material values and human behavior. Children may make mistakes and suffer failure repeatedly, which makes them mature rapidly. When they grow up, those children will appreciate money and assess people's personalities sensibly.

Conversely, those who are surrounded by extreme care from rich parents have a propensity to be ignorant of the outside world. Since they live satisfactorily with abundant support provided by parents, there seems to be no need for these children to worry about money-related problems. Affluent parents are often overprotective of their children, so they help them to flee from difficulties to the maximum. Consequently, rich children will have trouble deciding by themselves later. More seriously, rich children are often made to study and distance themselves from the society. What they learn about the world is reflected mainly in textbooks and through the mass media, which tend to exaggerate the truth. It is understandable that many rich young adults, without sufficient knowledge of the social life, have an inaccurate view about a number of social issues. Nowadays, summer camps and courses about living skills are organized to help rich children grasp rudimentary know-how about adult life, but learning indirectly is nowhere near as effective as tackling problems head-on and gaining experience afterwards. In short, rich children are likely to have a clumsy approach towards various problems in adulthood due to their lack of practical knowledge.

As discussed above, with regard to problem solving , children from a poor background outdo those from prosperous families. This supports the affirmation that the family background has undisputed influences on children's problem solving skills.

:(( I had a substandard conclusion. Could someone instruct me in how to write conclusions? My ideas for conclusions often dry up.