IELST TASK 2 : living in small community creates a wide range communication

In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area.

what do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

These days, some people live in big cities where they have just a little communication with others, whilst in the past, people who lived in the small villages communicated with every person in their area. Therefore, I would argue that the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks.

On the positive side, people living in small community are easy to remember each other. This is because the number of people is not as much as in big cities, so they may be able to interact well with everyone in their regions. For instance, when there is a disaster in the village, the chief can recognize the citizens to be evacuated from one area to another area by checking his inhabitant lists. Therefore, the small community creates people to be solid one another. In addition, citizens can have a good cooperation with others such cleaning village together.

However, a negative side in the small community is that the citizens will keep away from the other people outside their community. For example, when there is a visitor comes to their area, the local people usually prevent to make an interaction because visitors may be able to bring different culture from other regions, so the genuine culture in the small community decreases gradually. Consequently, it is hard for the people to update their information such as technology communication, medicine when it comes to living in the countryside.

To sum up, although there is a drawback of living in small community, it is evident that people are closer one another by having a good cooperation and kinship relationship in the same area.