Homework is Harmful! - Why?

Teachers or lecturers usually give students homework to emphasize their comprehension about lesson that they has given, but not all students like it. Some students say that homework is harmful. They tell the reasons, such as: Students do not have time to read other lectures, they cannot do other activities and students have little time to take a rest.

Students do not have time to read other lectures, because Homework takes much time & energy. When students do and focus in one lesson, they will spend much time to do that assignment or homework, and they will spend much energy to think about that also. It can make students do not want to see even read other lecture books, they will feel bored.

Second, students cannot do other activities, because they have much homework that they must finish &the deadline of each lecture is too fast, so it makes students to do homework hardly. Whereas, they have other activities that they must do, such as: gather with their family, join organization, etc. "The more time students spend on homework, it's not clear that they are getting better grades or better test scores," said Robert Tai, an associate professor with the Curry School of Education at UVa. (article: Rachel Ryan).

Then, Students have little time to take a rest, because they have much homework from different lecturers. So, after doing this homework, they directly do that homework (another one). Then, they have little time to make they mind and body fresh. It can influence their health, if they often do it. "assigning hours and hours of busywork can backfire, depriving a child of the free time he needs to develop." (article: Jen O'Neill).

Therefore, teachers must think twice to give their students homework, weather it is good or not for students.