HISTORIC BUILDINGS - symbol of the cities and piece of our own history

Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples tosupport your opinion.[/i]

[i]Every culture has its special features. Historic buildings are the one of most impotant symbols of history, as matter of fact a city must preserve its old, histroric buildings. In this essay, I will elaborate the reasons for why I disagree destroying the historic buldings, and replacing them with modern buildings.

Firstly, every old buildings represent an important piece of history.When a person visit an historical places like churchs,or buildings, this visitor can understand about their culture, or religion. There is a myriad of differenties reading the cultures, or religions from a book and visiting the places where this religion was lived, or where this culture was developed. I'm a Muslim, but when I visit a church,which is important for christians, I really get excited aboout their beliefs, and also its architectural.

Secondly, historical buildings are symbol of a city. There are multitudes of cities,or countries which is remembered with the most important historical places by tourists, the visitors may not remember the name of the city where a historical places are located, but most probably they can remember the name of the places. Most of these people visit these cities to see the historical places. If a city destroys them, they will loose the interest of tourists.

Lastly, many people, who were very important in the history, lived in this historical places,destroying this kind of places is a really unrespectful behaviour to these important people, who may prevent the city with losing their life.Ataturk, who is the most important person In my country's history, was born in Selanik in 1881,the home where he was born has been protected by the government, since he was a hero, we always remember him and his thoughts with respectfully.

To conclude, a city shouldn't destroy its old, historic buildindgs, inasmuch as destroying to this kind of bulilding, or places means destroying your own history. These are symbol of the cities,and also piece of your own history.