A Higher Tax on Fast Food and what would be the impact on people's health

In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe that government should take the measure of increasing the tax on fast food due to a rise in people who have health issues. Indeed, these health problems, such as obesity and high blood pressure, are caused by eating too much fast food. From my perspective, raising the tax on fast food is not particularly effective for the following reasons, and there is another solution for this matter.

Firstly, the tax for fast food is paid by the customers. Therefore, they will have to pay more if the government eventually imposes a higher tax. For example people in Indonesia originally have to pay IDR 30,000 after tax for a hamburger in McDonald's which one the biggest fast food chains in the world. If the government raises the tax, then the final price would become, say, IDR 35,000. Based on a survey reported on television 10 days ago, Indonesians eat hamburgers in McDonald's 20 times a week in average. So, the raise in tax will definitely result in them spending more money on hamburgers. Thus, they shall twice before getting one from a McDonald's outlet.

Next, there will be a predictably fall in fast food's profit, hand in hand with less people eat out at the outlets. It will not just affect business owners, but also other related business supporters, such as food material suppliers and distributors, and most importantly their employees. When a ship is sinking, the sailors have to jump out from it. However, the ultimate question is where are they supposed to go to? If a fast food falls, it would have negative impacts on the employees, like being terminated, or reduce of their salary package.

In conclusion, based on the reasons mentioned above, I am convinced that if governments impose a higher tax on fast food, it is more likely that they will face other problems in the future. It is imperative that they educate people about a much healthier diet and how excessive fast food consumption will affect their health condition.