Should the high school curriculum introduce unpaid social work as a mandatory subject?

Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that high school curriculum should introduce unpaid social work as a mandatory subject. Many schools are providing the chances to the students to get aforesaid jobs, however, these are not compulsory for all students. I strongly advocate to make it must for every student to provide their free services to the community as it can help them to built their career.

Volunteer community services can help the teenagers to earn an experience that can help them in their professional life. Students can enhance their chance of employment by adding such experiences as an assets in their resume. Moreover, they can also learn some organizational skills which can help them to organize their daily routine. It will also help to inculcate certain values such as morality, punctuality and responsibility. Thus,teenagers will become aware of the wellness of their society and country.

From the point of health and fitness, social work can play an important role. As it is a common trend that most of the teenagers utilize their after school hours by browsing internet or playing video games, that give rise to certain health problems. If they use their free time in some social works, for instance by coaching young children, they can improve their mental and physical health. It will also help them to polish their own skills in their respective field of interest such as in sports, dance or painting .

In essence, adolescence is a phase of life when the mind should be kept busy unless it will create destructive ideas. The idea of making free social work a compulsory subject in high school should be welcomed for the betterment of our next generations.