IELTS; High Sales Vs Power of Advertising - Discuss

Topic: Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent you agree or disagree?

Now days, a discussion rose about goods purchasing and what extent advertisements stimulate it. Some insist people are encouraged to buy things they don't actually need, while others support the viewpoint that people buy more because their increasing income in stand of advertisements. I trend to support the latter point of view; however both of them have their own fault.

First of all, with the development of our society, the meaning of need has been redefined. In other word, people have more demands besides just food and clothes (even those are changed too). For instance, according to Tongji University last year report, car purchasing dramatically increased during the past 7 years (2005-2012) in China, based on people's needs for travel themselves and more convenient. Advertisement helped only for 5% of the total sale number. Moreover, modern lifestyle has changed for more choice. Compared with our last generation, various type of instant food and different kinds of shoes would consider as no necessary. However, it means a lot and makes our live in the quick speed metropolitan much more convenient. Advertisement is only tell us what kind choice we could have.

Although, it is not saying advertisements cause no fault. For those people who can't make clear decisions, such as toy advertisement for kids and chocolate advertisement during valentine season should played more thoughtful. Business trick and celebrity effect are truly leading reasonless consume.

In conclusion, the development of advertising industry is still reasonable, customers by goods according personal standard and needs. However, mass media and related governmental department need oversee this blooming industry to make sure it on a right and healthy path.