IELTS:High sales of popular consumer goods and power of advertising

Hi all,

Help me to correct this! Many thanks in advance!

The prompt:

Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of the advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With improvement in living standard, the volume of consumer goods is gaining considerably. Many people are of the opinion that this increasing volume is the result of advertising technology rather than the real needs of society. I am personally against this and think that people really desire to buy more goods nowadays.

First of all, we could not deny the great power of advertising. This is really one of the motivations for good consumption. Advertising brings customers convenience in their purchasing by telling them the new-launched products and main features of them just by sitting in front of a television, computer or just by listening to the radio. Advertising also contribute partly to the desire of customers in buying a product. This case happens more often to the categories with their idols using the products. They would like to mimic them, sometimes just want to be as fashionable as superstars.

However, in my own opinion, I think that a large part of the vast goods consumed nowadays is still the result of people's real needs. Advertising today is attractive and charming but consumers are getting wiser in their purchase. They may like watching the advertisements, they may staring hours at a poster or banner and admire them much but finally, the needs will the main factor leading to their decision in buying a products. Needs here is not only the basic demand, it can be also the needs to be outstanding, to be sophisticated and fashionable.

In a nut shell, people are now active in their expenditure. Advertising is just a motivation for larger amount of the consumption; it makes no force on the customers in their purchasing. Consumers themselves have the right to decide what to buy due to their needs, with needs here is defined as above.