IELTS WRITING TASK 2: HIGH INCOME OF SPORTS PROFESSIONALS

Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a fact that many sports professionals, such as famous basketball, football and golf players, are living with high income, which arouses debates about whether it is fair or not. In my opinion, they deserve what they have due to the following reasons.

First of all, the success of sports professionals is made through their own efforts and talents. Champions or medalists in professional games are all born with exclusive gifts in sports, which determine the levels average people cannot reach. It is rather natural for the best competitors to be rewarded more than others. At the same time, they pay more sweat and pains in their road to success than what people can imagine. When we claim fairness, we should not just focus on their luxury lives, but also accept that they have to sacrifice part of their personal lives and handle high pressure from fierce competitions.

Secondly, their high income is due to people's attentions concentrated on them as well. In modern society, many people are keener on sports events, such as Olympic Games, World Cup and Formula 1, than events in other areas. As a result, a great deal of money can be made by selling tickets. Therefore, since people are willing to pay money to watch, it is not reasonable to complain about what sports players earn through their contributions.

Furthermore, a big part of their income is made through advertisements. In other words, their high income is one of the results of being celebrities, who always make commercials more attractive. If they do not have revenues from endorsements and sponsorships, I believe they would not become so rich as people see today.

To conclude, the wealthiness of sports professionals is fully justified if all the factors contributing to it are taken into account. It is the peculiarities of their profession that decide their level of income.