IELTS: Happiness - factors and importance; "small gap between birth and death"

Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

Answer:

My grandmother used to say: the life is a small gap between birth and death, so be happy in it. Admittedly, happiness has always been very pivotal in our lives but there is no strict definition of it. As a result, everyone can tell various factors of achieving felicity. In my perspective, there is a vast number of factors of achieving happiness and I will enlist vital ones.

To begin with, happy environment can be considered as a key factor in achieving happy state. In other words, living among happy family, friends and relatives can help you forget your woes and see to life with a optimistic view again. For example, when I have some misery, my friends always make some jokes and they make me smile. In this way, they are always very helpful in making me happier.

Further and even more vitally, not caring about what other people think of you is sometimes very important for being happy. As Winston Churchill said: we shall never reach our destination if we stop and throw a stone at every dog that barks. For example, when person cares about what other people say and think of him, that person can never feel real happiness. I think, we can feel happier when we become and do what we want to be, not what others want to see.

Having considered all the arguments above, we can finally draw a conclusion that happy environment and being ourselves without being ashamed of it are very important factors and essential parts of achieving happiness.