IELTS-Happiness- factors,definition and importance - Prosperity makes individuals complete

Question-

Happiness is considered very important in life.

Why is it difficult to define?

What factors are important in achieving happiness?

answer-

Happiness is a feeling of contentment and pleasure. Every individual wishes to achieve happiness in life, but happiness is such a complex feeling which can't be defined in just few lines. Every person has different description of happiness and thus, it can't be generalised.

Why is happiness so difficult to define? The only possible reply to this question is that, different people have different perspective and thus different meanings of happiness. For instance, for a poverty stricken labour, getting two meals a day is a happy moment, while for an industrialist, a profit of millions is a reason to be happy. A small child is happy getting a candy while an adult gets happy getting a job. Thus, happiness is a feeling which varies from person to person.

Though happiness is difficult to define, but it is hugely dependent on various factors. A person's expectations is the most important parameter. Expectations sometimes lead to disappointment and when they are fulfilled, one always feels happy. Another very essential factor is self-satisfaction. Without having satisfaction, an individual would feel uncomfortable in their present life and can never be happy. Satisfaction eventually makes a person happy.

Nevertheless, happiness is achieved when there is prosperity. Prosperity makes an individual complete. Prosperity is the availability of the necessities in abundance. Success, achievements, praise, recognition, financial security etc. are some other factors essential for achieving happiness. However, in the society, greed, corruption, selfishness, anger, lust etc. are detrimental to achieve happiness.

Therefore, achieving happiness is an easy and difficult task, both at the same time. If people want to find happiness, they will find it by watching their pets playing. On the other hand, nothing can make a person happy if they are full of greed and selfishness. Happiness is an ultimate feeling of self-contentment which depends on an individual's nature and attitude towards life. Happiness depends how we think our life is and thus its indefinite, undefined and completely abstract.