Hang it up - technological devices considered as learning tools may cause major distraction in class

Although technological devices like the mobilephone, laptop and I pad are considered learning tools such as a dictionary for the students, they are one of the major causes of distraction in the classrooms , especially cellphones.

In the article, " Hang It Up", Jessie Scaccia focuses on the controversial issue between parents and teachers whether or not students should bring cellphones to the classrooms. She states that cellphones cause distraction in the classrooms that result in poor performance of students. She also mentions that parents opposed the school district's rule , so they started a lawsuit against the school district. Most parents claim that with the help of cellphones, they can communicate with their children in case of emergency. Neverthless, Jessie thinks that cell phones are

the status symbol for the students.

I agree with Jessie that cellphones are distracting for students' learning in the

classrooms. Texting through mobilephones in the classrooms divert the student's attention. As students are paying themselves for college fees, and if they are

texting in the classrooms, that is their loss. In addition, not only person who received a phone call by a loud ringtone during the class , but also another students would be interrupted by cellphones while concentrating the lecture. To illustrate this, a movie theater prohibited people from using

cellphones while watching a movie, because a sound of cellphones are distracting for people who focuses on watching a movie in the theater where it costs themapproximately eighteen dollars to watch .

In short, cellphones are harmful for students in the classrooms. Limiting time to use cellphones in the classrooms would be a good solution for students and their parents who needs a call of emergency.