Growing traffic and pollution issues; 'formulation of proper road traffic'

[b]Topic:

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective?

Essay:[/b]

With the rapid growth of technology, there has been a growing concern towards increasing traffic and pollution problems that have made the urban life miserable these days. Many people contend that the best way to curb these problems is to raise the fuel prices. However, I do not agree with this argument completely.

Although, the higher prices of petrol may lead to lesser use of cars but it is not the best solution to solve the traffic problem of big cities. Indeed, it may breed other problems such as raising other commodities' prices, especially food and clothing as well as adding to the chaos among public. In my opinion, there are many better options available than mentioned above. In this respect, the appropriate strategy would be to create awareness among people to abide by the traffic rules and regulations and also penalize them for breaking or disobeying the traffic rules. Thus, there is a need to create civic sense among people. This can be done with the help of awareness campaigns as well as through media such as television, newspaper and internet.

Furthermore, the concerned authorities can check the engines of vehicles, emitting huge quantity of harmful gases in the environment. Their use must be banned or orders should be issued to replace the engines with the more efficient ones. This step would definitely contribute positively to preserve the natural beauty and maintain a healthy environment. In addition, traffic problems can be controlled when there is proper road system. The higher authorities and city district government must also ensure that the road infrastructure is proper and up-to-the mark.

In conclusion, in light of the above mentioned measures, I believe that expensive fuel will not contribute much in lowering the traffic and environment problems. What is more essential here is the formulation of proper road traffic rules and the guided authority to help implement such rules.