Toefl: grades based solely on exams or based more on class participartoin

Task: In some classes, course grade are based solely on exams, while in other classes, grade are based more on class participation than on exams. Which type of grading do you prefer? Use specific reasons to support your response.

My essay:

Course grading technique based solely on exam is used is many classes because it is a fast and easy way to judge students' performance. Nevertheless, it is not so accurate and precise. Grades which are based on both exams and class participation are more trustworthy for estimate student performance because this technique is fairer and enhance students' attention on class.

First of all, grading system which is based more on class participation is fairer for students. If teachers only depends on exams to judge how well students perform, they will likely to miss something. Bad students who do not attend class at all may still get good grade because of cramming or cheating. I have crammed for some exams in my life and I know the big amount of knowledge the I put into my head in a short time disappeared right after the tests. I still passed the tests, and my knowledge is still empty. I also have a close friend who is a technology worm. Whenever we had examination, especially history, at school, besides pencils, rulers, paper, he also brought a tiny headphone which in hidden in his sleeve. Before the exam he recorded all the stuff, and when the exam began, he used cover his ear by one hand, listened, and also wrote everything down crazily. Consequently, he still passed. On the other hand, keen students may get bad grade because they may be nervous during the exam and think that they haven't learn enough.

Second, grading system based on more class participation enhance students' attention on class. You take part in classes seriously, or you fail. You student must learn and attend classes if they do not want to fail. Therefore, their knowledge they get will remain in their head longer, which is more effective the the other method.

In conclusion, although it is more difficult for teachers to keep track of every single student's performance in class, the grades based more on class participation are more accurate and effective. The aim of learning to go master knowledge, and while the grading system solely based on exams doesn't help that much, the grading system based on both class participation and exams enhance students' attention on class and the effectiveness of teaching.