Toefl essay: Governments should pay more attention on health care issue than ..

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should pay more attention on health care issue than environmental issue.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Actually, I did not have great idea during 30 mins. a bad performance :(

In modern society, many people tend to focus on health care issue; however, I disagree with this statement that government should pay more attention on health. Here is why.

First, environment becomes worse in modern society. If governments can not pay attention to environmental issue and provide a clean environment for residents. It may be a real reason to effect residents' health conditions. For example, I live in Taipei, a highly develop in manufactories city. Taipei has a great number of vehicles which emit a great amount bad air and pollute this city due to the fact that government does not concentrate on public transportation issue so that city's environment becomes worse; in addition, it causes a lot of people suffer from disease because they inhale too much bad air. Therefore, it is more important to pay attention to environmental issue than health.

Moreover, putting a lot of waste water to the river directly, factories avoid paying money to deal with waste water. If government does not limit them to pollute city's water resource, it may cause residents to drink waste water. Kaohsiung, another big city in my country, has a huge problem in water pollution. People, in Kaohsiung, afraid of drinking tap-water, so that they must pay more money to buy water in convenient stores; however, it is not convenient and unfair for them. If they drink a lot of tap-water, it may harm their bodies and force them to pay more money to go to hospital. Therefore, to handle the basic health problem, government should eliminate the environmental problems first.

For the reasons above, paying more attention to health issues, government can not solve the real health problems. A lot of people exposure to bad environment, especially in urbane areas. If government does not pay more attention to solve the basic environment problems, it is difficult to attain the achievements that enhance residents' healthy. Thus, I believe that government should pay more attention on environmental issue.