Should government support local film makers financially?

Question:

People prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced ones. Why do you think this happens? Should the government support local film makers financially?

In modern world, the movie industry is largely dominated by developed countries, where these filmmakers have often strive to exceed the viewer's expectation. However, the growth popularity of international movies is greeted with dismay, mainly from the local flicks industry. This raises a hot potato issue whether government should support local filmmaking industry. This essay will explain the root cause of the emergent fond towards foreign films and solution to this issue.

To begin with, the key success of international film producers is that they have the edge on financial budgets. Numerous of foreign movie companies has the financial robust for special effects, spectacular location, actions and stunts when making a movie. Furthermore, they are capable of offer attractive salary for renowned actress, actors as well as directors. Hollywood blockbuster like "Fast Seven" and "James Bond", are great examples of a foreign movie that demonstrate the effectiveness of using most of these attributes to attract viewers. Secondly, domestic competitors often have been criticised for poor quality and storyline. Instead of being unique and showcasing nation's culture, they often try produce a movie which has similar plotting with the foreign film.

In order for domestic film makers to compete against international counterparts, it is believed that government should provide financial assistance to domestic film makers. With the extra funds, it allows them to purchase modern technologies to create visual and sound effects such as 3D Effects. Alternatively, they can as well employ famous artists to perform in the movie. Furthermore, domestic movie makers can also hire their nation's places of interest for filming to showcase the nation unique culture and advertising the beauty of this area. Only with all these things set in place, local film makers may have a better chance of increasing the popularity of their films.

To sum up, it has clearly showed the reason of the unpopularity of local films mainly due to the shortage of funds and substandard storyline. It is hoped that government can offer financial support to local film makers, so that they can raise the standards of domestic movie to foreign movie benchmark, at least.

Please advise and correct my essay.