Toefl- Government should spend more money on improving roads or public transport?

Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should spend more money on improving public transportation( trains..)Why? Use specific reason and details to develop your essay.

There is one opinion which supports that governments should spend more money on improving roads, on the other hand another opinion is governments should spend more money on improving public transportation like trains and busesAs far as I am concerned I would like to choose the second opinion which says that government should spend more money in order to improving public transport. My reasons to hold this view are as follows.

First, Improving in public transportation helps us to save the world from global warming. Everyone knows that the global warming is harmful for our beautiful world and personal vehicles cause that, because every vehicle emits carbondioxide which is the main reason for global warming. Just imagine that world's population is more thann 70 billion, so if most of the population choose to buy personal vehicle due to lack of public transportation, it will be dangerous for this world. So if government spends money more on improving public transportation rather than improving roads, it will attract morepeople to travel by public transport rather than their own cars.

Second, It also helps India to reduce its fuell import bills. Everyone knows that India has to import fuel from other countries for their fuel need, so if more people choose to travel by trains, buses, metro train rather thann their own transport, it definitely results less fuel consumption. For example if 1 lakh people travel daily from home to office by their own cars, it needs so much fuel for burning , on the other hand if the same1 lakh people travel by metro train to reach their office, it needs less fuel to consumption. In the result it helps India's economy to grow more quickly.

Third,it takes less time to reach destination comparing to personal transport especially metro trains, because if you travel by your car, you have to face heavy traffic . Instead if you travel by metro train, you can reach your destination in less time.

Also there is no denying that the importance of roads and highways but spending more money on improving public transportation is better than improving roads for following reasons.

In conclusion, public transportation helps us to save from global warming, and it also helps us to make our economy strong by reducing import bill, and it also saves our time. That's why I choose this opinion.