Government is a necessary evil - Can success be disastrous? - essay help

Undoubtedly, human ought to be success. In the process, they ought to overcome obstacles and failures which are keys to the way of success. Base on different notables, they have different opinions and thoughts about success. According to previous President of South Africa Nelson Mandela, "Money won't create success, the freedom to make it will." Basically, his perspective is freedom leads to success. On the contrary, success can be disastrous and lead to a menacing disaster.

Although a noble scientist, Galileo Galilei had been contributed a myriad to science and the human society, but still his success led to a calamity. In 1609, Galileo invented his own telescope to observe the heaven. A year later, he published his discoveries which he supported Copernicus's heliocentric theory. Inevitably, the Church was indignant at Galileo's attitude towards the solar system. Galileo was found guilty and forced to against Copernicus's theory in front of the public. Thus Galileo's happenings displayed that success can be disastrous.

On the other hand, an enlightened French Philosphe, Voltaire had been likewise unfortunate. Voltaire considered government to be a necessary evil with powers should be limited. Moreover, he believed that intolerance, superstition and ignorance were the factors that harmed man and society, supported the ideas of free speech and free press. Therefore, he went to jail twice for the work he had published. After his second jail term, Voltaire was exiled to England for more than two years. Thus Voltaire's happenings displayed that success can be disastrous.

In short, Galileo and Voltaire had been treated malevolently because of their success. Galileo was named the Father of Astronomy, not to mention Voltaire was considered as one of the important enlightenment thinkers. Once again, success can be bipolar, the aftermath can be disastrous.

This is the first draft.