Government expenses for roads and highways or public transportation - TOEFL essay

Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways,or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation(buses,trains,subways)?Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Transportation is the magic way that tightly compress the world into an earth village,in which people can communicate with each other at an unimaginable effectiveness;transportation is the power that makes the america the start point of dreams,through which people can achieve their goals at a speed that they never have experienced before.At a time when Union Pacific celebrates its 150th anniversary,it reminds me again how important the transportation is.So in this question, I am definitely inclined to spending money on improving roads and highways.

Both roads(highways) and public transportation takes an irreplaceable place in modern age,the common destination they have is to facilitate the speed people communicating,but they are varied in the function,public transportation is mainly serves as a convenient tool for people who are working and living in cities,but roads(highways)is a totally different thing,it's responsibility is to connect people from far distance,it is the only factor that makes the world an earth village.

With highways we can deliver people or goods from one place to another within a few days,it largely reduce the time we spend on traveling and transporting.When we step into the 21st,effectiveness represent everything, roads(highways) only become more and more significant in this high speed society,for example,companies want to get information about their products as quickly as possible,people demand the delivery services sending their package at their upmost speed,merchants also need to talk with their cooperators whenever they want.

All in all,roads(highways)play a much more important role in the process of modernizing and civilizing,It not merely deliver goods or people,more importantly,it transmit our dreams!

Ps:I'm preparing for the TOEFL iBt,I will appreciated with your little help!