IELTS TASK 2: Government should build more nuclear power plant as it is eco friendly.

Government should build more nuclear power plant as it is eco friendly but other people oppose this view. Describe the both sides of view and the give your opinion.

Please help by checking my Ielts writing:

My ANSWAR:

Nowadays, nuclear energy is a well known term. In the meantime whether it is a blessing or curse has a sparked heated debate. Some people support that atomic power has a fundamentally beneficial influence in our lives. While, other contend that it has a detrimental effect as well. However, after analysing the merits and demerits of nuclear energy, here I will not support the government to build more nuclear power plants.

One of the most significant benefits of nuclear energy is that it becomes an alternative source of energy when other natural resources like oil, coal, gas has become scarce. Nuclear reaction releases a million times more energy , as compared to hydro or wind power which now generates electricity. Moreover, very less fuel is required by nuclear power plant to produce energy compared with other fossil fuels. Furthermore, nuclear energy has been justified as a cut of carbon dioxide emissions and thereby counters the effect of climate change. By using nuclear power, it is possible to prevent the devastating effect of global warming caused by contemporary energy sources .Another compelling reason of building nuclear power plant is that it requires very small space, even possible to built nuclear village in a small restricted area.

There are, however, equally strong arguments against the development of nuclear power plant. Perhaps, the most dangerous things of nuclear plant is that its expulsion of radiation which is more hazardous for both human and environment. By damaging human cell it only makes people sick but also may become the cause of death. The devastating effect of radiation may last for a long time. For example, during the World War II, 1945 Hiroshima and Nagashaki, the two cities of Japan were affected by nuclear bombing where 2 million people died within a week of attack but still genetically defected child are born there due to the result of nuclear radiation. In addition to, the highly radioactive waste emitted from nuclear power plant is very hazardous. Once released, it lasts for tens of thousands of years before decaying to safe level. It is also supported that for terrorists, nuclear plants would be the highest target zone to disrupt power supply and devastate the entire region. Nuclear weapons from nuclear energy can be another thread for entire mankind. Another strong reason against nuclear power plant is that it requires large capital cost and around 15-20 years time, professional handling, costly uranium are required to build a single nuclear plan.

In conclusion, after analyzing of pros and cons of nuclear energy it is clearly seen that nuclear plant have a lot of negative effects on this world. Thereby it is suggested that instead to develop nuclear power plant; government should think any other alternative eco friendly sources of energy like wind, tidal power.