GMAT issue essay - censorship of television programmes

I had written this essay for practicing for GMAT AWA essay. Please provide your feedback.

Topic:

In some countries, television and radio programs are carefully censored for offensive language and behavior. In other countries, there is little or no censorship.

In your view, to what extent should government or any other group be able to censor television or radio programs? Explain, giving relevant reasons and/or examples to support your position

My response:

The extent of government or group control over censorship of television and radio programmes depends upon the audience that those programmes are meant for.

Programmes telecasted over television and radios may contain offensive language or visuals, which may be harmful for the viewers. I believe that all programmes on television and radio should be censored by the governement or a responsible group.

The chief reason for my view is that programmes on radio and television attract children the most. If those programmes contain offensive language, violent or scary visuals, or any other kind of socially unacceptable behavior, they can have a strong impact on the minds of children and young adults. For example, very often we come across children using abusive language that they learn from uncontrolled viewing of television programmes. Moreover, several children in India tried to imitate the hero of a fantasy programme and jumped from heights, hoping that they will be rescued by the hero, but tragically died. If such programmes are not censored with a view of the impact they have on children, such incidents will keep on occurring.

Another reason for my view is that often programmes on television and radio contain material which are crime related, and result in an increase in the incidents of crime. Even ordinary criminals like pick pockets or thieves get to know new way of performing crimes and evading from law. Often people who are not inclined towards criminal activities find it as an easy way of earning, and are provoked by such programmes. With censorship, crime can be controlled from spreading.

Few might argue that censorship takes away the touch of reality from the programmes and they appear more to be like a fairy tale. However, the impact that those programmes, if uncensored, have on children cannot be overlooked for the sake of entertainment. Yet, others might argue that those who want to commit criminal acts will do so, whether they watch it on television or not. However, censorship will prevent few people from committing crimes, mostly those who get provoked by watching crime on television.

To sum up, programmes on television and radio should be censored keeping in mind the impact on children and young adults, and they should not have contents which can potentially provoke people to commit criminal acts. Censorship may reduce appeal of the programme for adults and may make the programmes less enjoyable, but these considerations should not overshadow the concern for providing a healthy environment for children to grow up and a better and safer society.