IELTS:globalisation... hold demerits

topic:

Some people think the increasing business and cultural contact between countries brings many positive effects. Others say it causes the loss of national identities. Discuss on both sides and give your opinion.

essay:

263words

In this day and age, globalization in terms of business and culture is an irreversible trend. Some people insist that this trend would generate many benefits to countries involved, while others are concerned about the loss of national identities. From my perspective, both sides are reasonable.

Obviously, trade and cultural globalization contribute a lot to economic development and inter-understanding between countries respectively. With the diminishing barriers of importing and exporting consumer goods at an international level, companies can seek larger markets and purchase rare or cheaper goods abroad. Thus, resources worldwide are more likely to be reallocated and used more effectively, improving global economy. Another main benefit lies in more understanding between countries brought by frequent cultural interaction. To get to know an ethnic group, the best way may be learn their culture. Undoubtedly, now cultural communications render foreigners an access to know other groups.

However, to some extent, some countries' identities are fading, which is due to the loss of traditions and customs. In China, fast food restaurants, such as KFC and McDonald's, tend to be rather popular, especially among younger generation, while traditional Chinese food (like dumplings and noodles) can hardly appeal to an increasing number of people. Also, in present age celebrating Christmas Day is really a hot issue, not only for shopping malls, but for average households in cities.

Overall, globalization is one of greatest progress of human societies, though it does hold demerits. Personally, nations can seize the chances offered by this trend, but meanwhile governments and civics should place more value on the preservation of national identities.