My girlfriend says that money is everything, but we need yet have more care about public recognition

The complete prompt is:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People care more about public recognition than about money. Even if no more money is given, public recognition can still make people work harder.

And essay is stated below, thank you all in advance :)

When I ask my girlfriend which do you prefer, money or public recognition, she shouts:" Definitely money, money is everything!" Though many, like my girlfriend, agree that money can buy anything you want, only one thing can help someone, such as politician or teacher, earn true reputation, only one thing meet the highest level pursuit of human beings, that is public recognition. That is way I believe that people care more about public recognition than money.

Admittedly, money has proven to be an integral part of our lives because it allows us live a better life. Eating and drinking use money, giving an fancy gift to my mother needs money, and the house and car are also bought by money. These example shows the overwhelming importance of money in our life. While money contributes so many to our life, people fail to consider there are so many people from various field are working not for money, which is not our truly pursuit.

First and foremost, people from various fields are working not for money. For politicians, public recognition is the determining factor of their future. They give speak everywhere, do some charitable things and propagate their position everywhere to earn good reputation. While money plays an important role in their electoral process, it never erase the decisive influence of public recognition. With regard to teacher, to give examples, a teacher of mine, named Lin, in senior high school, is my most respectful teacher. I remember she usually work hard to mid-night even the salary is low, she said:" I don't think the essence of my job, teacher, is earn money, but educating, and eliciting the potential of my students" She earned her reputation after years of hard-work. I don't think she care more about money, but as the saying of this statement, even if no more money is given, public recognition can still make her work harder.

Moreover, the highest level pursuit is public recognition. According to the Maslow's hierarchy of needs, as the highest level, self-actualization and esteem are higher than basic physiological needs. It is true that for homeless people, it is ridiculous to talk about public recognition and esteem, but for most of us, self-actualization and esteem, that is public recognition, are more important than physiological needs, that is money. In a sense, the goal of pursuing money is to chase our public status or public recognition. Consequently, since public recognition is a higher level pursuit, surely we care more about it than money.

To sum up, I concede my girlfriend is right in a sense, but I hold the firm view that we have more care about public recognition.