IELTS: Gentle manners vs Material possessions.

A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A majority of people claim that the qualities such as honor, trust and kindness are not valuable anymore, as social status and possessions have become an identification of a person. While I admit that in some societies people are too materialistic, I would argue that the traditional values such sharing and honesty have even more impact on a personal worth.

One must note that brands like "Armani" or "Mercedes" have become status symbols for many people. As a result, people aspire to earn more money in order to keep a high status in their consumer societies. For that reason, men have started persuading the latest styles and fashion. In my town, for example, people are more judged according to their wealth rather than knowledge or any other quality. But the same case cannot be observed in all regions of my country.

Nevertheless, characteristics such as sharing, honor and kindness are still the paramount factors of getting social status. For example, a much respected person and the president of Uruguay Jose Mujica is described as "the poorest president of the world". Thanks to his qualities like sharing, honesty and kindness, he has got famous all over the world. In this sense, it is one very salient proof of the accuracy of my position.

In conclusion, I believe that the value of kindness outweighs any material possession and keeps being the most important achievement of everyone. From my point of view, every society is to choose gentle manners as a definer of social status.